An Unnecessary Change

Recently, Change.org started a petition that 5,000 people signed, requesting that “Sesame Street” characters Bert and Ernie get married. This raised one question for me… Why?!

I’m all for gay rights. One of the most absurd things to me is the fact that gay marriage is an issue, much less illegal in most states. It affects nobody other than the parties involved, and the only reason it’s an issue is because of the bible thumping beliefs of most American voters, which is an issue that I’ll have to touch upon one of these days. I think gay people deserve to be treated the same as the rest of us, and I feel very strongly about it.

This is where I’m drawing the line though. Puppets on a children’s show shouldn’t have a sexual orientation, period. According to the article I read, the main audience for Sesame Street is 2 to 4 years old. I’m pretty sure that most parents don’t give their kids the “birds and the bees” conversation at that age.

Also, Change.org shouldn’t have creative control over a television show, unless it’s their television show. The argument given by the people who support the notion of the marriage is that Sesame Street has touched on issues such as death and drug abuse in the past. The writers of the show decided to do that themselves though. If you cave in to every demand by the public on what to do on your show, then it is no longer your show.

If Change.org wants to be taken seriously in the future by people who share my thoughts on this issue, I really think they should reconsider their stance. Otherwise they’re going to be looked at like a bunch of extremist radicals. They’ll never read this particular article, but there has to be other ones out there that say something along these lines. Let’s hope they listen.

About malf922

33 year old married guy. I write about whatever is bouncing around this head of mine at any given moment.

Leave a Reply

