Drawing the Line on Where to Draw the Line

I hate it when people tell me who and what I can and can’t make fun of. Why is someone who has a disability immune to taunts, yet if I have a friend who’s cheeks turn bright red when he’s embarrassed, it’s totally fine to tease him?

I understand that it may seem cruel to make fun of the mentally handicapped, but that makes them untouchable? I certainly don’t see it that way. And have you ever noticed that if you make a retard joke, it’s never a retard who gets offended? Well, that’s not totally true. If words get you that mad, you’re a retard. It’s never a mentally retarded person who is upset. What’s that? It’s because they don’t understand the joke? Good! Don’t fucking tell them, and nobody gets hurt! I’ve heard some brutal Amish jokes on TV, but since they don’t watch TV, they have no idea that they’re the butt of a joke. I don’t see any bleeding-heart Amish rights groups running to Amish country to rally the troops.

Also, if saying “retard” is so wrong, then why does the word sound so awesome when I say it? Just say it to yourself. Sounds powerful, doesn’t it? I mean the “re” is a great start, and “tard” is such a strong finish. I mean, if you just tell someone, “You’re a fucking tard!” with the proper inflection, it sounds powerful as hell. And that’s only half of the word! You can also say “re-re” and it works just as well.

A word I’m not a fan of is “faggot”. It’s just weak, and it’s improperly used. I think gay jokes are hilarious, but I don’t see being gay as an insult. When a straight guy calls another straight guy a faggot, he uses it wrong most of the time.

That’s a great bit, and spot on with how I feel about it. I don’t call gay people faggots. I don’t see how someone is inferior based on who they enjoy having sex with. If a guy wants to fuck others guys, he has my blessing. I’ll even go as far to say that I’d be totally comfortable having a gay son. If that’s what he wants, I’m cool with it. I honestly don’t think I’ve ever even referred to a gay person as a faggot. It doesn’t do anything for me.

You know who I’d call faggots? Vegans. Nobody acts more faggy than vegans. Everything they say comes off as condescending to me, with a shitty “holier than thou” attitude. Good for you, you don’t eat meat. I do, and I fucking love it. You can tell me that the cow I’m eating was anally raped by Ron Jeremy, and that wouldn’t make me hesitant in the least to make out with my steak, rub it all over my crotch, then keep eating it.

Back to the matter at hand though… As much as I hate faggot, if you tell me a funny joke that uses the word, I’ll laugh. I’m not that uptight about anything. They’re just words. If you don’t let them bother you, then they lose all ability to be hurtful. That’s the heart of the matter really.

Also, when people get mad that they’re being made fun of, they need to stop and think about it. Just the phrase itself, “making fun” says all it needs to. Just because you’re the target of a joke doesn’t mean that you can’t enjoy it. When someone is making fun of you, they’re making YOU fun! I love a good joke about me. My favorite post on here is just me ripping myself to shreds. I made fun of me. Think of it as “making love” in a non sexual manner. Do you get mad when someone makes love to you? If it’s a grudge fuck, then it’s fine I guess, but otherwise?

So really, I think the line should be drawn where the intent of the comment lies. If it’s meant to be funny, everything is fair game. I don’t care if it’s a joke about a retarded faggot. If it’s funny, then who is it hurting?

About malf922

33 year old married guy. I write about whatever is bouncing around this head of mine at any given moment.

3 responses to “Drawing the Line on Where to Draw the Line”

  1. mindwarpfx says :

    I have need of stop laughing pills! OKAY I’ll just sit back and let them die out on there own. cheers all the best!

  2. malf922 says :

    Wow, thanks man. You made my day. I enjoyed your post on turning your ears off. Comments are always appreciated. And trust me, I’ll be commenting on yours.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. There’s Always an Exception | RageLaugh.com - September 29, 2011

Leave a Reply

