Uncommon Courtesy

When was the last time that you saw someone help an elderly person across the street? If I saw it these days, I would automatically think that the boy is trying to steal her purse for cash and pills. I always remember people who swore that times were changing, and things aren’t the way they used to be. I always thought that these people were just complaining, and that they were the ones who were changing. I was wrong, things are different these days, and I’m not sure they will ever be the same.

I went to McDonald’s to pick up lunch the other day, and I decided to use the drive-thru. I was next in line to order, so I lowered my window and turned the radio down. The lady in front of me leaned out, and started yelling “I want a double cheeseburger. I want a large coke. I want a 10 piece chicken mcnugget meal….” and all I could think was “Christ, would it hurt to say ‘please’? Can she be more rude?” because it was so impolite to me. Say what you want about me being an asshole or whatever, but there’s 2 things that I’m not; I’m not a liar and I’m not rude.

These days you see more people who are like the cunt in the drive-thru than you do people with manners. And I’m talking about basic common courtesy too, like holding a door for someone, or thanking someone else when they do it for you. I always do this for people, and half the time they just walk through and don’t even acknowledge me. I’m not asking for an award, but fucking look me in the eye and say “thank you” at least.

I think this problem is most apparent in the restaurant scene. I see these people who just bark out what they want, and always look for something to complain about. I’m not saying that if they get something wrong that you can’t tell them that it’s not what you wanted. But people look for things that are wrong so that they can complain. “Yeah I ordered my steak medium, and this is clearly medium rare. Let me talk to your manager.” You can tell that people do this because they want something for free. No regard whatsoever for the server who might get chewed out because of your greed…

And for the love of god, tip your server! I’ve never waited tables before, and I’m very glad about that. If I had to deal with some of the people that I’ve seen, only to get a lousy tip, or none at all, I’d snap. I know that tipping isn’t customary everywhere, but in this country, when someone waits on you at a restaurant, you tip them. If they treat you well, you tip them better. I could never live with myself if I went out to eat and acted like some of these apes.

Being polite is in fact an uncommon courtesy in this day and age, and I know where the problem lies, as I’m sure some of you do as well. It all starts with how someone is raised, but I can’t let the blame fall only on the parents, because not everyone takes after their parents. There’s always someone who is headstrong enough to break the cycle, so I’m sure some good kids take it upon themselves to be better people. Unfortunately, they are vastly outnumbered.

And yes, some things that are considered to be polite seem dumb to me, but I do them anyway. Elbows on the table, wearing a hat at the table, and saying “bless you” after someone sneezes are all meaningless things, but I do them anyway, because they make the ones that are purposeful more relevant. If I don’t wear a hat at a table because I’m not supposed to, I’ll definitely thank someone when appropriate because I’ve trained myself to be polite regardless.

And I don’t even think people should have manners in consideration of other people either. I certainly don’t do it for anyone else, because I can’t stand most people. I do it so that I know that I’m better than these animals. If I see some jerk cutting people off in traffic, I don’t think “Oh that poor person who got cut off.” No, I think “I would never do that, because I’m not a piece of shit.” It’s all for me and my self assurance.

Seriously people, exercise the uncommon courtesies that most people ignore, and pass them along to your kids. If it’s not expected anymore, then that’s all the more reason to do it; to show people that in a world of being rude, you stand above the ungrateful.

About malf922

33 year old married guy. I write about whatever is bouncing around this head of mine at any given moment.

One response to “Uncommon Courtesy”

  1. Thedailycop says :

    Bravo! For a minute there, I forgot you are a Democrat.
    Gone are the days of common courtesy. It’s a different world than the one I grew up in. If I see someone with a blinkers on, I’ll let them slide in front of me. When someone let’s me change lanes in front of them, I always wave a thanks to them.

Leave a Reply

