Caution: Contents of this Post May Cause Severe Discomfort!

I mentioned yesterday that I have there’s a mentally handicapped man who comes in here often. There’s several actually, and I don’t mind it in the least. Most of them are pretty nice guys, and sometimes they’ll strike up a conversation with me. Some of them are actually fun to talk to, and can carry on a conversation better than you baboons.

So yesterday, I was just doing what it is that I do at work, and a regular group comes in. They all walked in and waved to me, so of course I smiled and waved back and greeted them. Believe it or not, I’m usually a pretty nice guy. I know who these guys are, but I don’t know them on a personal level. I don’t even know their names, they’re just familiar faces.

One of the guys walks up to me, and with a straight look on his face he says “My mom died last week, will you pray for her?” If I were to look up “uncomfortable” in the dictionary, I would expect to see a picture of the look on my face at that exact moment. I had about a million thoughts running through my head, and I dealt with it the best that I could.

I’m not going to turn this into a theological discussion, but let’s just say that religion isn’t a part of my life. If it’s a part of yours, that’s totally cool with me, just leave me out of it please. My mom put up a picture yesterday that explains it pretty well.

I feel that some people think that I have a beef with religion, which is untrue. My only real gripes are that religion dictates laws such as gay marriage, which it should have zero influence on, and that some religious people look at people like myself as if we’re evil because we’re not believers.

Anyway, let’s get back on track. So he asked me if I would pray for his mother, and I replied “Of course I will.” What else can I say? “Sorry, I don’t do that.”? So yeah, I lied and said I would pray. But why for his mother?

If you’re a person of faith, isn’t someone’s fate in the afterlife already determined? What does praying for the deceased do? Is it like you’re a lawyer who is negotiating with God? I’m truly confused with the concept, but in this man’s defense, I suppose he deserves the benefit of the doubt.

I will say that I feel a little hypocritical, since I pride myself on not being a liar. What would you have done though? Someone who lost a person dear to them asked for your sympathy. I feel like I handled it correctly, although I went against one of my principles. I haven’t felt so uncomfortable in a long time though.

About malf922

33 year old married guy. I write about whatever is bouncing around this head of mine at any given moment.

5 responses to “Caution: Contents of this Post May Cause Severe Discomfort!”

  1. mooselicker says :

    What else could you do? You did the right thing. And by right I mean polite.

    Perhaps he was a Hindu and believes in reincarnation and praying for his mother would allow her to come back as a grasshopper instead of a toad?

    When death is involved it’s always best to just go with the flow.

  2. Bridget says :

    I would have done the same thing. Saying anything else just makes you a douche bag.

    • malf922 says :

      That’s pretty much how I saw it. It sucks to tell a flat out lie, while also going against what I believe, but anything else is a pure dick move. Even I can’t be that heartless.

  3. Michael Cargill says :

    How does one go about praying for a person anyway, whether they are dead or alive?

    I am unaware of the usual procedures that are required for such an undertaking.

Leave a Reply

