Top Ten Favorite TV Shows

I’m not exactly a television junkie, but I’m also someone who watches it daily. I don’t spend days at a time glued to my television set, but there are some shows that I can’t miss. So, since I’m not in a ranty mood today, I figured it was a good time to compile another list.

Also, I actually got tweets and text messages from people asking why I didn’t put anything up for a few days. Thank you! You have no idea how great it feels to know that people enjoy something that I love doing. I wouldn’t stop doing this even if everyone hated it, but knowing that people actually like it… I don’t know. It’s a great feeling that I’m unfamiliar with.

Ok, here’s my favorite shows. Also, these are all shows that are currently going on. I might make a list of shows that are no longer airing soon as well.

10 – The Green Room with Paul Provenza

I make it no secret that I’m a stand-up comedy nerd. It’s my favorite form of entertainment, hands down. There’s something about the freedom of being able to say whatever you want, as long as it’s funny, along with the simplicity of a man on stage with a microphone that appeals to me. This is just brilliant comedians bullshitting with one another, as if there’s no camera there at all, I love it. Pair this up with Marc Maron’s WTF Podcast, and it’s everything a fan like me needs.

9 – Real Time with Bill Maher

I’m not into politics as much as some of you may think, I just like being informed. The problem is that watching news programs and political debates is boring. That’s where this show comes in. Bill speaks the truth, and is very funny while doing it. There’s always politicians, columnists, actors, comedians, and more on the show debating their opinions, and Maher joins in. And before you think that Bill Maher is just some comedian/pothead, well, he’s also an Ivy League graduate who knows what he’s talking about.

8 – Dexter

This show is about a serial killer who only kills other murderers, sort of like a vigilante. He’s basically a sociopath with a heart of gold. What makes this show so great is the cast though. Very good actors who deliver their lines well, and make the plot believable. Great show.

7 – Game of Thrones

This show has only been on for one season, but that one season was epic. Imagine a great movie that takes place in in medieval times, and is 12 hours long. I’m amazed at how great the cast, script, and special effects are. This show must cost a fortune to make.

6 – Breaking Bad

This show is about a high school chemistry teacher who works 2 jobs just to support his family. When he is diagnosed with lung cancer, he decides to start cooking meth to pay for his medical bills, and to save enough money so that his family is taken care of after he dies. It really makes you wonder how far you would go to take care of those who depend on you. Bryan Cranston’s acting in this show is some of the best that I’ve ever seen in tv or movies. He deserves every Emmy that he wins, and then some.

5 – Archer

If the above clip doesn’t get a laugh out of you, then there’s something wrong with you. Created by Adam Reed and Matt Thompson, who also made Frisky Dingo, which is my favorite animated series ever. These guys are just great comedy writers, and their cast of actors is great too. Jon Benjamin, Aisha Tyler, Chris Parnell, Jessica Walter, and plenty of celebrity cameos. Hilarious show.

4 – Boardwalk Empire

Based in 1920’s Atlantic City, this show is about the prohibition era, and the crime and controversy surrounding it. Starring Steve Buscemi (who doesn’t love him?!) and produced by Martin Scorcese, this show has a lot of promise. Scorcese even directed the series premiere. I think that this show is the second coming of The Sopranos.

3 – The Walking Dead

This show is based on a zombie apocalypse. It’s an unoriginal premise, I know, but the execution of the show is top notch. While an original premise is great, I think that execution is key. Everything about this show is done well, and it’s a much deeper plot than you may think. Based on a comic book series with the same name, this show is less about zombies, and more about people. It almost seems like a social experiment at times. Even the name of the show has dual meanings. While The Walking Dead refers to zombies, it also refers to the people trying to survive the flood of zombies. The people who are still alive are also the walking dead.

2 – The League

There’s nothing deep or interesting here, just a hilarious show. This show is about a group of friends who are obsessed with fantasy football. It really has very little to do with football, and a lot to do with how ridiculous guys get about stuff like that. Most of the actors on the show are either comedians or comedy writers, and all of them are great. Many of the funniest scenes in the show are actually improv, which tells you how clever these guys are. I also love how this show invents it’s own lingo, which is hilarious.

1 – Louie

Are you really surprised by this? What can I say? I’m a Louis CK whore. This show is loosely based on his life, and it’s always great. While it may not be the best show on tv, it’s my favorite, and the one that I look forward to watching the most.

Well, there you have it. I noticed after compiling this list that all of my favorite shows are on cable. I’m just not into broadcast tv shows, because they’re all censored, and have laugh tracks, and just seem cheesy to me. It’s just a matter of taste, I suppose. If you guys liked this list, I may make another one of shows that are no longer being made, so stay tuned for that. As always, thanks for reading.

About malf922

33 year old married guy. I write about whatever is bouncing around this head of mine at any given moment.

6 responses to “Top Ten Favorite TV Shows”

  1. tg_2 says :

    nice list man….pretty damn close to mine

    • malf922 says :

      Thanks man, and thanks for reading it. I remember you mentioning Dexter a while back, and I’m finally almost caught up. I don’t get Showtime, just HBO, so I have to download them. Season 5 was great though.

  2. MervinMous says :

    Dexter and The League are two of my all take favorite shows. Most of my female friends don’t really find the league funny, but seriously? It’s hilarious!! I wish I was friends with those characters in real life. I love Taco and Ruxin!!

  3. Thomas Stillwell says :

    If you like The Walking Dead TV show then you HAVE to read the books …they are just that much better. I have felt real emotions for some of the characters in those books. Best thing I’ve ever read.

Leave a Reply

