I Wanna Rock!

I’m not a music aficionado, but I do enjoy it. I mainly listen to various types of rock, ranging from Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers to Nine Inch Nails. But if something sounds good to me, I’ll listen to it, because I’m not set in my ways as far as music goes. A couple of weeks ago, I decided to give Tony Bennett’s new album a shot, and I’m glad I did, because I really enjoyed it. That being said, I have no musical talent at all, and I’m not the guy to ask for band recommendations. I can tell you what I like, but I have no idea what you might be into.

One thing that I find annoying are the hipsters. You know, the people with the tattoos and piercings, who always have to tell you what the hot new band is, or will be. “Oh you like Foo Fighters? I used to. You should try The Masturbating Monkeys, you’d like them.” I think I just described a girl I know, and she’s cool, but I generally hate that type of person. They always have to emphasize the fact that a band they like is unknown, because that supposedly makes it better. I like a few bands that aren’t super mainstream, but that’s not why I like them. If they got popular, but kept playing great music, I’d still like them.

And I understand the hipster mentality, but most people like that get carried away. It’s ok to be knowledgable about music, but don’t get douchy about it. For instance, one of my favorite songs ever, Iggy Pop’s The Passenger is now being played on a Captain Morgan Spiced Rum commercial. I have that song on a few of my iPod playlists, and now I’m afraid that if someone hears me playing it, they’ll say “Hey, is that the Captain Morgan song?” That drives me up the wall. That being said, I’m still not a hipster, because I don’t get carried away with it. Some people I know listen to some crazy shit, and it sounds so bad that I’m not even sure if it qualifies as music. Just because your music is unique doesn’t mean that it’s good.

Anyway, I’ve already strayed off of my intended topic. The reason I’m writing this is because I was watching Game 7 of the World Series, and I’m pretty sure that I saw Chris Daughtry singing the national anthem before the game. I remember when I saw him for the first time, and that was when I was forced to watch American Idol at work. This white trash couple made me put it on, because they had to see Daughtry sing. The whole time they were saying “Hell yeah! It’s about time they get a rocker on this show!” First of all, I don’t know what the fuck a “rocker” is, but I’m sure it’s not him. Chris Daughtry doesn’t rock, he just likes leather pants and rings.

Who rocks? Keith Richards, Ozzy Osborne, Joe Strummer, Roger Daltry, Kurt Cobain, and Mark Knopfler rock. They were famous for being musicians, but they weren’t musicians to be famous. Their attitude was “I’m going to do this because I want to. If you like it, great. If you don’t, I don’t care. I’m doing it anyway.” Freddie Mercury had an amazing voice, but do you think he would have been on a show like American Idol? I don’t think so. I think that he would tell Simon Cowell to suck his AIDS infested dick before going on a show like that.

Anyway, that’s my take on the whole thing. And if you’re into Daughtry, that’s fine, but take it for what it is. Don’t confuse someone like that with a genuine “rocker.” And yeah, I’m a child of the 90’s. I was a teenager back then, and I think that your teenage years are when you develop your tastes in music the most, so most of my favorite music comes from that time. That being said, there were some amazing bands that I love, that came out way before my time. Bands like The Who, The Clash, Pink Floyd, and more are great bands that I listen to all the time. Sometimes I want to listen to music, and sometimes I wanna rock. When I wanna rock, Chris Daughtry is the furthest thing from my mind.

About malf922

33 year old married guy. I write about whatever is bouncing around this head of mine at any given moment.

One response to “I Wanna Rock!”

  1. mooselicker says :

    There are 2 kinds of hipsters. Hipsters who like older obscure bands and hipsters who like newer obscure bands. I don’t mind the ones that like the older ones. Hey, at least they’re putting effort into it. Research and whatnot. There are too many bands now who just try to be weird instead of making good music.

    I’d give you a list of them, but you probably wouldn’t know who they were anyway. – Something a hipster would say

Leave a Reply

