Liebster Blog Award

It appears that RageLaugh.com has been nominated for an award. Ok, calm down, it’s not a real award, I don’t think. From what I’ve read, it’s actually an award that bloggers give to other bloggers as a compliment. I like compliments, so I’m still touched. Thanks to Lily in Canada for the nomination! I feel like an ass, because apparently she’s been reading this blog, but I was unaware. I try to communicate will all of my readers, but I’ve failed. I’ll work on that. And yes, for now on I will be referring to myself as the author of an award winning blog.

The rules that go along with this award are very chainletter-ish. I’m supposed to nominate five other blogs, in order to generate traffic for them, or so I’m assuming. I can’t nominate blogs that have over two hundred followers, which pretty much confirms my initial assumption. While I may seem snotty about this whole thing, I’m not the kind of jackass who wouldn’t pay it forward. If someone who I don’t even know is going to be nice enough to pay me a compliment, then I’m going to be nice enough to follow through with the intention of the kind gesture. That being said, I’m not going to be gushy about it. I’m just going to say what I think, in the spirit of RageLaugh. Think of me as Mickey Rourke at The Golden Globe Awards.

That’s a pretty badass look for an awards ceremony. I’m a jokester too, so maybe I’ll be like Brian Wilson at the ESPY’s.

Now, I have to select five nominees. Since I can’t nominate someone who has more than two hundred followers, that eliminates Reasonably Ludicrous. He has eight hundred followers, and for good reason. The funny stories and illustrations make for an excellent blog. Why he follows my blog is beyond me.

Here are my nominees, in no particular order:

My first nominee has to be The Daily Cop This blog is run by a personal friend of mine. He has a very good sense of humor, and is an overall pretty smart guy, in spite of his political beliefs. His Bizarro Frog story had me rolling. All of his posts are true stories from his years in the force, and I highly recommend anyone to read them. He’s been slacking lately, as far as posting stories goes, so maybe this will get him to continue writing.

My next nominee is Thumb Worthy. It’s run by my friend Tom, and I’ve been known to drop in every now and then for a rant, and The Daily Cop writes a thing or two himself as well. The basic premise is to cover as many things as possible. There’s video game and movie reviews, various lists that fall under the “5 Things” category, rants, etc. It’s pretty much an “anything goes” mentality. There’s four or five writers currently, but I’m sure more will be onboard eventually.

My next nominee is Three Sixty This blog is run by Jessica Fuentes, who is an aspiring writer who lives in the Phillipines. Everything I’ve read from her blog is insightful, and well written. A big plus is that you can immediately tell that she posseses something that many people lack, myself included. That thing is motivation. I always get the sense that she’s driven towards a goal, and I can appreciate that. Sure, I don’t have much of anything in common with a seventeen year old from the Phillipines, but I do have an appreciation for someone who is driven. It’s for that reason that I read.

Next on my list is Funny or Cry. The author’s name is Darren, and other than that, I don’t know much else about the guy. I ended up following him on Twitter via proxy (@Crobama, I recommend the follow). I started following Paul Provenza, who is a great comedian, whom I consider to be an icon in the industry. I later began following Kelly Carlin (George’s daughter), and another comedian named Dylan Brody. They retweeted many of the funny things that @Crobama said, and there you have it. Now that I follow all of those people, along with former SNL writer Joe Bodolai, it’s like evesdropping on a funny conversation every night. I kind of feel like a creep now. Any way, his story, The Ice Man Cometh literally had me laughing out loud. He even used it for his first open mic routine, which is something I’ve considered doing, but don’t have the courage to follow through on. He has a podcast too, called Dylan Brody’s Neighbor’s Couch, which is available on iTunes.

Finally, I’m going to nominate LMAO with Wendy. This blog is written by comedian Wendy Liebman. This is a name that every comedy nerd like me knows well. I’ve been watching her comedy since my early teen years. I can’t remember if I originally saw her on An Evening at the Improv or the one on VH1 hosted by Rosie O’Donnell, but I definitely remember seeing her on one of those, along with HBO. I love her “setup, punchline, REAL punchline” joke method. Her blog is more personal, usually involving health and happiness, along with the occasional interview with other people. It’s definitely not comedy based, but that’s fine, because she tweets funny things, and tells jokes for a living. Either way, it’s a great blog.

Ok, I feel like I’ve paid the good deed forward. I’ll follow through with the intention of the award now, and notify my nominees. This should be fun, telling someone who doesn’t know me that I’ve nominated them for an award that isn’t real, that I didn’t even know existed until yesterday. I’m sure they won’t think that I’m some sort of a whack job.

Since I took on the duty of being a nice guy, the latest episode of the critically acclaimed The Baby Chronicles will be up tomorrow. Stay tuned to my award winning blog, my sweet little Ragelaughers!

About malf922

33 year old married guy. I write about whatever is bouncing around this head of mine at any given moment.

3 responses to “Liebster Blog Award”

  1. Lily says :

    Dude, no. I feel like the jerk. I should have been commenting! I’ve just been reading and running. Less annoying than a hit and run, but stupid nonetheless.

  2. MervinMous says :

    Congrats!!! This award is well deserved!

Leave a Reply

