Reasons to be Thankful

As most of you know, yesterday was Thanksgiving here in the States. Some people think that it’s cheesy or corny to list the things that you are thankful for. I am not one of these people. I think that if you aren’t thankful for what you have in your life, then you’re ungrateful. I’m going to list the things that I’m thankful for now. Sorry, this won’t be funny or angry. I’m allowed to speak from the heart sometimes, right?

I’m thankful that I’m not the kind of person who goes to the bar on Thanksgiving. I deal with people like this, and it depresses the hell out of me to see these people. One guy is separated from his wife because he’s out drinking and doing coke every night. His pal ends up at the bar because him and his wife got into a knock down, drag out fight, on Thanksgiving, in front of their children. I know my mother was worried about me growing up, since apparently my father was a fan of the booze. Not me, Mom. I can drink, but I can also not drink, just like you. I think I learned my moderation from you.

I’m thankful for my dog, Xander. I know it sounds silly, but I really am. We got him about 6 months ago, mainly because my wife pushed me into it. I’ve always loved dogs very, very much. But I had a dog growing up, and he didn’t get nearly enough attention, and I always felt guilty about it. That is not the case with Xander. Our dog is smothered with love on a daily basis. If I said that I didn’t love that dog, or that getting him didn’t change my life, I’d be lying my ass off. Every night that I work, all I think about on the ride home is the wagging tail that will greet me at the door. It seems that we’ll be getting another dog in the very near future, and I can’t wait. Don’t worry, Lucie. He’ll be loved, and you and Isabel can come over any time you want to visit him. I’ll even give you a key to our house if you want.

I’m thankful for my friends. I’ve had the same friends since I was eleven years old. I’m thirty-three now, and my best friends that I had growing up are still my best friends now. I love you guys just as much as family, because to me you are family. You were up there with me when I got married, and I know you’ll be there when this amazing ride that we call “life” comes to an end. I’d walk into traffic without asking why for you guys. My kids are going to have quite a few uncles.

I’m thankful that so far, conception and pregnancy haven’t been a problem for me and my wife. We got pregnant with no issues, and so far Liz is doing great. I know it’s early, and I’m not one to take things for granted, but I feel like I have to be thankful that so far, everything looks great. I’ll be thankful to be a father as well, and I’m going to use every fiber in my body to be the best dad that I can be. That’s my promise to my unborn child.

I’m thankful for my family, as well as the family that I was lucky enough to marry into. I know that as far as my family goes, we chose to take the scenic route, as far as reaching our intended destination goes. I also know that I was a pain in the ass of epic proportions at times. We made it though, and I love you very much. I’m looking forward to having my child’s grandmother nearby as well. We know how important that was to me growing up, and I’m sure that it will be the same for this child.

As far as the family that I was lucky enough to marry into goes, what can I say? You’ve made me feel like a part of the family since our first Christmas dinner, nine years ago. I can’t believe it’s been that long, but it has. Living a few houses down from you will be great, and I’m very excited. I can’t be thankful enough for how lucky I am to be a part of your family.

Most of all, I’m thankful for my wife, Liz. I know there was a brief period in time where our future was in question. That was my fault, but rest assured that there is no longer a question at all. I have never loved anyone as much as I love her, and for very good reason. As great of a person as she seems to everyone, she’s so much more than any of you know. I can trust her with my life, and I hope that she knows that she can trust me with hers. Some people think it’s cheesy when married couples refer to each other as their “best friend.” That’s because those people have never experienced the kind of relationship that Liz and I have. She is without question my best friend, and I am beyond thankful for being so lucky to have someone like her in my life.

That’s what I’m thankful for this year. I’m certain that in the future, I will have much more to be thankful for. I may be bitter, harsh, crude, skeptical, and a bit of a smartass. One thing that I’m not is ungrateful. I truly hope that all of you had a great Thanksgiving, and that you all realize the amazing things you have in your lives.

About malf922

33 year old married guy. I write about whatever is bouncing around this head of mine at any given moment.

5 responses to “Reasons to be Thankful”

  1. Annie (Camille) says :

    You are truly blessed…..

  2. Lily says :

    People don’t do this enough! It’s refreshing when someone is grateful! These days it’s easy to lose sight of the important things in life.

    • malf922 says :

      I agree. I know that I may say some things on here that are debatable opinions. That’s the way I truly feel though, so I accept the opinions that some people may have of me. But I am beyond grateful for the good things in my life. I’m a lucky man.

  3. MervinMous says :

    That was beautifully written and makes me feel like I know a little part of you that others are unfortunate to miss out on. I feel blessed to have married one of your best friends because he is truly my best friend as well and he introduced me to such wonderful people like you, Liz, & James. Thank you for being so accepting and making me feel comfortable to be apart of the “circle”.

Leave a Reply

